Ballard Spahr has a longstanding commitment to provide pro bono legal services to individuals and organizations in need. That commitment is embraced by all of our lawyers, paralegals, and staff in every office and within every practice.  We encourage each lawyer to devote meaningful time to pro bono matters, offer billable hour credit for pro bono work, and recognize lawyers' pro bono achievements.

As a signatory to the Law Firm Pro Bono Challenge, established by the American Bar Association and administered by the Pro Bono Institute, Ballard Spahr has annually made and met a commitment to donate at least three percent of our billable hours to pro bono service, more than 50,000 hours annually.

Our effort is led by our Pro Bono Counsel and a pro bono practice manager who work with bar associations and pro bono referral agencies and, in concert with our Pro Bono Committee, direct legal resources where they are needed most. We advocate for fundamental human rights in cases involving the death penalty, voting rights, asylum and immigration, and child advocacy; we help first-responders with estate planning through Wills for Heroes; we represent low-income individuals and families in a full spectrum of matters; and we provide tax, corporate, and other assistance to nonprofit organizations.

Our attorneys and paralegals receive full billable hour credit for their pro bono work and are recognized within the firm. In 2007, we established The Alan J. Davis Award, a $25,000 charitable donation which is given annually to honor an individual or group at the firm providing exemplary legal representation in a matter involving the public good. The Davis award is given in addition to four other pro bono awards and recognition accorded to every attorney and paralegal recording more than 50 hours of pro bono time in a given year.

Ballard Spahr consistently ranks among the top 100 law firms in the Am Law Pro Bono Report. We have received numerous awards and honors in recognition of outstanding commitment to pro bono work, including the prestigious ABA Pro Bono Publico Award in 2018.