Press Release

65 Ballard Spahr Attorneys Named to 2019 First Judicial District Pro Bono Roll of Honor

November 1, 2019

Sixty-five Ballard Spahr attorneys have been named to the First Judicial District's 2019 Pro Bono Roll of Honor for their pro bono work in Philadelphia courts. The FJD recognized the honorees at its recent Pro Bono Publico Awards event.

The FJD's Pro Bono Committee presents the awards to attorneys who worked on pro bono matters over the previous year in the Philadelphia Court of Common Pleas or Municipal Court, to support the FJD's effort to ensure justice for all Philadelphia citizens. Ballard Spahr attorneys recognized on the honor roll volunteered in child welfare, guardianship, and landlord-tenant cases, and in other matters to uphold low-income clients' civil rights and serve the public interest.

Ballard Spahr consistently ranks among the top law firms in the Am Law Pro Bono Report and received the American Bar Association's prestigious Pro Bono Publico award last year. As a signatory to the Law Firm Pro Bono Challenge, established by the ABA and administered by the Pro Bono Institute, Ballard Spahr donates more than 50,000 billable attorney hours each year to pro bono service. The firm's pro bono program helps ensure that clients have a voice and a legal advocate regardless of their ability to pay.

In addition to its pro bono work in the First Judicial District, the firm's attorneys advocate for fundamental human rights in cases across the country involving the death penalty, voting rights, and asylum and immigration; represent veterans in benefits appeals; staff legal clinics for the homeless; provide tax, corporate, and other assistance to nonprofit organizations and small business owners; and participate in system-changing projects across the country through impact litigation and legislative advocacy.

The 65 Ballard Spahr attorneys named to the 2019 Roll of Honor are:

Kurt R. Anderson
Wendy Angus-Anderson
Brian S. Auerbach
Barbara R. Beckman
Alicia H. Berenson
Michael Berry
Rachel Broder
Thomas F. Burke
Juliana B. Carter
Robert J. Clark
Christopher T. Cognato
Kevin R. Cunningham
Fred G. DeRitis
Brian D. Doerner
Michael D. Fabius
Daniel C. Fanaselle
Shannon D. Farmer
Nathan Farris
Jennifer Feden
David S. Fryman
Elliot I. Griffin
John C. Grugan
Jayne M. Hebron
Jean C. Hemphill
Shaina E. Hicks
Spencer A. Hill
William B. Igoe
Katayun I. Jaffari
Leslie E. John
Geoffrey A. Kahn
Aliza R. Karetnick
Brian N. Kearney
Justin E. Kerner
Denise M. Keyser
Yunhee Kim
Kimberly D. Magrini
Matthew N. McClure
Sara A. McCormick
Michael R. McDonald
Emilia McKee Vassallo
Elanor A. Mulhern
Paul K. Ort
Rosetta B. Packer
Raymond A. Quaglia
Alejandro Rettig y Martinez
Clifford Sacalis
Paul J. Safier
Joseph P. Sakai
John W. Scott
Elizabeth Seidlin-Bernstein
Mansi Shah
Ross T. Silverberg
Mark S. Stewart
Stephen R. Stigall
Heike K. Sullivan
Lisa B. Swaminathan
Mary K. Treanor
Matthew I. Vahey
Ronald M. Varnum
Jessica H. Watkins
Harry Weiss
Elizabeth Weissert
Matthew A. White
Kahlil C. Williams
John A. Zurawski

Subscribe to Ballard Spahr Mailing Lists

Get the latest significant legal alerts, news, webinars, and insights that affect your industry.