The Biden-Harris Transition’s first major announcement was the formation of a COVID-19 Advisory Board to assist President-elect Biden with developing a comprehensive plan to fight the pandemic. The Board consists of leading public health and infectious disease experts who have been tasked with planning a more robust federal response to curb the spread of the disease, including testing, contact tracing, production of PPE, and vaccine development and delivery. Team members will consult with state and local officials and other stakeholders to inform their important work. Members of the COVID-19 Advisory Board include:

Dr. Vivek Murthy, Co-Chair
U.S. Surgeon General, 2014-2017. Informal adviser to the campaign since August

Dr. David Kessler, Co-Chair
Former FDA commissioner, 1990-1997

Dr. Marcella Nunez-Smith, Co-Chair
Associate Professor of Internal Medicine, Public Health, and Management, and Founding Director, Equity Research and Innovation Center at the Yale School of Medicine

Dr. Atul Gawande
Professor of Surgery at Harvard Medical School. Senior adviser, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) in the Clinton administration.

Dr. Rick Bright
Director of the Biomedical Advanced Research and Development Authority, 2016-2020. Deputy Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response at HHS

Dr. Luciana Borio
National Security Council (NSC) Director for Medical and Biodefense Preparedness. U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Acting Chief Scientist in the Trump administration

Dr. Zeke Emanuel
Special adviser for health policy in the Obama administration. Chair of the Department of Bioethics at the National Institutes of Health (NIH)

Dr. Celine Gounder
Infectious disease expert and Clinical Assistant Professor at the New York University Grossman School of Medicine

Dr. Julie Morita
Executive Vice President of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and former Health Commissioner for the City of Chicago

Dr. Michael Osterholm
Epidemiologist and Director of the Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy at the University of Minnesota

Loyce Pace
President and Executive Director of the Global Health Council, specializing in access to essential medicines and health services

Dr. Robert Rodriguez
Professor of Emergency Medicine at the University of California San Francisco (UCSF) School of Medicine

Dr. Eric Goosby
Professor and infectious disease expert at the UCSF School of Medicine and former U.S. Global AIDS Coordinator in the Obama administration