The Biden-Harris Transition has announced members of its agency review teams who will work with federal agency staff to get up to speed on operational and policy matters once the Trump administration allows access to the agencies. In the meantime, the agency review teams will meet with outside experts, former agency officials, and other stakeholders to assess the work that needs to be done to prepare for the incoming administration. If history is any guide, many review team members will end up with key appointments in the Biden administration. Team leaders and rumored cabinet secretaries are listed below, and a complete list of the agency review teams can be found here.

Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
Leandra English, Special Policy Advisor to the New York State Department of Financial Services and former Deputy Director of the CFPB

Department of Commerce
Geovette Washington, Senior Vice Chancellor of the University of Pittsburgh and former Deputy General Counsel of the Department of Commerce
Cabinet Secretary: Mellody Hobson, President and Co-CEO of Ariel Investments; Meg Whitman, CEO of Quibi

Department of Defense
Kathleen Hicks, Senior Vice President and Director of the International Security Program at the Center for Strategic and International Studies and former senior Pentagon official in the Obama administration
Cabinet Secretary: Michele Flournoy, Managing Partner of WestExec Advisors; Sen. Tammy Duckworth (D-IL); Sen. Jack Reed (D-RI)

Department of Education
Linda Darling-Hammond, President of the California State Board of Education and founding President of the Learning Policy Institute
Cabinet Secretary: Lily Eskelsen Garcia, former President of the National Education Association; Randi Weingarten, President of the American Federation of Teachers

Department of Energy
Arun Majumdar, Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Stanford University and founding Director of the Advanced Research Projects Agency – Energy (ARPA-E) in the Obama administration
Cabinet Secretary: Ernest Moniz, former Energy Secretary; Elizabeth Sherwood-Randall, former Deputy Secretary of Energy; Arun Majumdar.

Department of Health and Human Services
Chiquita Brooks-LaSure, Managing Director at Manatt, Phelps and Phillips and former Deputy Director for Policy at the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and HHS in the Obama administration
Cabinet Secretary: New Mexico Gov. Michelle Lujan Grisham; Dr. Vivek Murthy, former Surgeon General; Dr. Mandy Cohen, North Carolina Secretary of Health and Human Services

Department of Homeland Security
Ur Jaddou, Director of DHS Watch at America’s Voice and former Chief Counsel at U.S. Citizen and Immigration Services (USCIS)
Cabinet Secretary: Alejandro Mayorkas, former Deputy Secretary of DHS and Director of USCIS

Department of Housing and Urban Development
Erika Poethig, Vice President and Chief Innovation Officer at the Urban Institute and former Acting Assistant Secretary of HUD
Cabinet Secretary: Alvin Brown, former Mayor of Jacksonville, Florida; Keisha Lance Bottoms, Mayor of Atlanta; Rep. Karen Bass (D-CA)

Department of Justice
Christopher Schroeder, Professor of Law and Public Policy at Duke Law School and former Assistant Attorney General
Cabinet Secretary: Sen. Doug Jones (D-AL); Xavier Becerra, California Attorney General; Sally Yates, former Acting Attorney General and Deputy Attorney General

Department of Labor
Chris Lu, Senior Strategy Advisor at FiscalNote and former Deputy Secretary of Labor
Cabinet Secretary: Julie Su, Secretary of the California Labor and Workforce Development Agency (LWDA); Sen. Bernie Sanders (I-VT); Bill Spriggs, Chief Economist at the AFL-CIO

Department of State
Linda Thomas-Greenfield, Senior Vice President at the Albright Stonebridge Group and former Assistant Secretary of State
Cabinet Secretary: Sen. Chris Coons (D-DE); Antony Blinken, former Deputy Secretary of State; Ambassador Susan Rice, former National Security Advisor and U.S. Permanent Representative to the United. Nations.

Department of the Interior
Kevin Washburn, Dean of the University of Iowa College of Law and former Assistant Secretary of Interior
Cabinet Secretary: Sen. Tom Udall (D-NM); Rep. Deb Haaland (D-NM)

Department of the Treasury
Don Graves, Head of Corporate Responsibility and Community Relations at KeyBank and former Counselor to Vice President Biden
Cabinet Secretary: Lael Brainard, Federal Reserve Governor and former Under Secretary of the Treasury; Sarah Bloom Raskin, former Deputy Secretary of the Treasury and former Federal Reserve Governor; Roger Ferguson, President and CEO of TIAA

Department of Transportation
Phillip Washington, CEO of the Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority
Cabinet Secretary: Eric Garcetti, Mayor of Los Angeles; Rep. Earl Blumenauer (D-OR)

Department of Veterans Affairs
Meg Kabat, Senior Director at Atlas Research and former National Director of the Caregiver Support Program at the VA
Cabinet Secretary: Pete Buttigieg, former Mayor of South Bend, Indiana; Sen. Tammy Duckworth (D-IL); Jason Kander, former Missouri Secretary of State

Environmental Protection Agency
Patrice Simms, Vice President for Healthy Communities at Earthjustice and former Deputy Assistant Attorney General
Cabinet Secretary: Mary Nichols, Chair of the California Air Resources Board and former EPA Assistant Administrator; Gov. Jay Inslee (D-WA); Heather McTeer Toney, former EPA Regional Administrator

Federal Reserve, Banking and Securities Regulators
Gary Gensler, Professor at the MIT Sloan School of Management and former Chair of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC)

Federal Trade Commission
Heather Hippsley, former Deputy General Counsel of the FTC

Office of Management and Budget
Martha Coven, Visiting Professor at the Princeton School of Public and International Affairs and former Associate Director in OMB

Office of the U.S. Trade Representative
Jason Miller, former Deputy Director of the National Economic Council
Cabinet Secretary: Rep. Jimmy Gomez (D-CA)

Small Business Administration
Jonathan Swain, Senior Director of Media Relations at Harvard University and former SBA Chief of Staff

U.S. Department of Agriculture
Robert Bonnie, Executive in Residence at Duke University and former Under Secretary at USDA
Cabinet Secretary: former Sen. Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND); Rep. Marcia Fudge (D-OH); Rep. Cheri Bustos (D-IL)