The First Judicial District of Pennsylvania has named 61 Ballard Spahr attorneys to its Pro Bono Roll of Honor. The honors were announced at the 2013 First Judicial District Pro Bono Publico Awards Ceremony and Roll of Honor, which was hosted by the First Judicial District judges last night at Philadelphia City Hall.

The judges from the First Judicial District created the Pro Bono Roll of Honor to recognize attorneys who have worked on pro bono matters in the Philadelphia courts. To be considered, attorneys must have either provided legal services to a client who is unable to compensate another attorney or have organized an initiative to expand pro bono legal services in the courts.

Ballard Spahr lawyers average more than 30,000 hours of pro bono service annually. The firm consistently ranks among the top 100 law firms nationally in the Am Law Pro Bono Report and has received numerous awards and honors in recognition of its pro bono work.

“The tradition of Philadelphia lawyers providing significant pro bono service originated in the colonial era, and Ballard Spahr is proud to participate in that long-standing tradition,” said firm Pro Bono Counsel Mary Gay Scanlon, who also served on the awards event-planning committee. “Our lawyers get so much satisfaction from this work and have a huge impact on the quality of life for their pro bono clients.”

Ms. Scanlon noted that two Ballard Spahr lawyers helped an elderly woman recover title to her home after a neighbor defrauded her and left her homeless, and another assisted one of the victims of Pennsylvania's infamous "Kids for Cash" scheme in a petition to participate in the class action settlement. Other Ballard Spahr lawyers represented abused children, tenants threatened with eviction, grandparents adopting their grandchildren, families needing to quiet title in order to obtain loans to heat or repair their homes, victims of domestic violence, and prisoners seeking exoneration.

The Ballard Spahr attorneys named to the First Judicial District Roll of Honor are:

Kurt R. Anderson

Jessica M. Anthony

Paul Apicella

Barbara R. Beckman

Lorene L.  Boudreau

Michael R. Carroll

M. Elizabeth Cloues

Christopher Corsi

Tobey M.  Daluz

Monique Y. DeLapenha

Jennifer E. Drust

Lindsey Ermey

Michael D.M. Fabius

Shannon D. Farmer

David S. Fryman

Jeffrey B. Goldberg

Terence M. Grugan

Robert E. Haimes

Sandra Maki Hashima

Jean C. Hemphill

Henry E. Hockeimer, Jr.

Alisa M. Gifford

William B. Igoe

Hara K. Jacobs

Katayun I. Jaffari

Christopher A. Jones

Keith B. Joseph

Geoffrey A. Kahn

Andrew E. Kampf

Rachel M. Keene

Paul J. Koob

Stephen R. Kovatis

Jason A Leckerman

Edward I. Leeds

Kimberly D. Magrini

Sharon Marshall

Matthew N. McClure

Jeffrey Meyers

Steven M. Nadel

Joy C. O'Brien

Christine R. O'Neil

Joanne Phillips

Eileen Quigley

Carl Geoffrey Roberts

Lynn E. Rzonca

Clifford Sacalis

Marilyn C. Sanborne

Jonathan S. Satinsky

Mary Gay Scanlon

Sarah Schindler-Williams

Richard J. Slavin

Dee Spagnuolo

Heike K. Sullivan

Lisa Swaminathan

Joel E. Tasca

Benjamin Trayes

Ronald M. Varnum

Brieanna Wheeland

Matthew A. White

Kia Holifield Wimmer

Sandra M. Wintner


Related Area

Pro Bono