The First Judicial District of Pennsylvania has named 52 Ballard Spahr attorneys, including firm Chair Mark S. Stewart, to its Pro Bono Roll of Honor.

The Roll of Honor is a way for judges in the First Judicial District to recognize attorneys who have worked on pro bono matters in the Philadelphia courts in the past year. To be considered, attorneys must have either provided legal services to a client who is unable to compensate another attorney for the services or have organized an initiative to expand pro bono legal services in the courts. The honors are part of the 2012 Pro Bono Publico Awards Ceremony, held at Philadelphia City Hall and hosted by the First Judicial District judges.

“Ballard Spahr’s commitment to pro bono service comes from the top,” said firm Pro Bono Counsel Mary Gay Scanlon, noting that firm Chair Mark S. Stewart regularly supervises pro bono matters for the Support Center for Child Advocates and currently is handling an asylum application for a refugee from Darfur. “Ballard attorneys share a strong commitment to service. As a firm, we support that dedication in every way we can. We encourage our lawyers to devote meaningful time to pro bono matters, offer billable hour credit for pro bono work, and recognize our lawyers’ pro bono achievements.”

The Ballard Spahr attorneys named to the First Judicial District Roll of Honor are:

Jessica M. Anthony
Alexandra Bak-Boychuk
Barbara R. Beckman
Josh Bobrin
Lorene L. Boudreau
Lucretia C. Clemons
Jennifer E. Drust
Shannon D. Farmer
David S. Fryman
Farrah I. Gold
Jeffrey B. Goldberg
Leslie M. Gomez
Terence M. Grugan
Robert E. Haimes
Henry E. Hockeimer, Jr.
Atarah J. Hornezes
William B. Igoe
Keith B. Joseph
Katayun I. Jaffari
Rachel M. Keene
Paul J. Koob
Evan W. Krick
Troy E. Larson
Jason A. Leckerman
Aldie Jennings Loubier
Kimberly D. Magrini
Tina R. Makoulian
Maura E. McKenna
Tejal K. Mehta
Mary Theresa Metzler
Jeffrey Meyers
Joy C. O'Brien
Christine R. O'Neil
Margaret Osborne Padilla
Kaitlin E. Picco
Raymond A. Quaglia
Eileen B. Quigley
Carl G. Roberts
Jonathan S. Satinsky
Mary Gay Scanlon
Gina Maisto Smith
Mark S. Stewart
Lisa B. Swaminathan
Joel E. Tasca
Ruth S. Uselton
Ronald M. Varnum
Matthew A. White
Kia Holifield Wimmer
Sandra M. Wintner
Philip N. Yannella

Related Area