Fourteen Ballard Spahr attorneys from offices throughout the country have been named 2012 Lawyers of the Year by Best Lawyers, one of the oldest and most respected peer-review publications in the industry. Only a single attorney in each practice area in each community received the designation.

Each year, Best Lawyers conducts extensive surveys in which thousands of leading lawyers confidentially evaluate their peers. The current edition of The Best Lawyers in America is based on more than 3.9 million evaluations. The lawyers named “Lawyer of the Year” received particularly high ratings among their peers for their legal abilities, professionalism, and integrity.

The following is a list of Ballard Spahr’s 2012 Lawyers of the Year by legal practices, along with the cities where they practice:

Copyright Law

Lawrence K. Nodine – Atlanta

Corporate Governance Law  

Charles R. Moran – Baltimore

Corporate Law  

Karen C. McConnell – Phoenix

Franchise Law

Kim I. McCullough – Denver

Labor Law – Management

David S. Fryman – Philadelphia

Land Use and Zoning

Jon M. Laria – Baltimore
Neil Sklaroff – Philadelphia

Litigation – Banking and Finance

Alan S. Kaplinsky – Philadelphia
Roger P. Thomasch – Denver

Litigation – Labor and Employment  

Steven W. Suflas – New Jersey

Litigation – Real Estate

Michael Sklaroff – Philadelphia

Public Finance Law

Frederic L. Ballard, Jr. – Washington, D.C.
Kevin R. Cunningham – Philadelphia

Real Estate Law

Alan S. Ritterband – Philadelphia