When the City of Stockton, California, declared bankruptcy, it served as a clear warning—like a canary in a coal mine—that the same fate could befall any other city, special improvement district, town, or county that finds itself reeling in the wake of bond defaults and bankruptcies.

As the effects of the Great Recession continue to be felt, municipalities must be prepared to adjust quickly to financial circumstances that can have a cascading effect. Infrastructure projects may create vulnerabilities in which the bankruptcy of a developer suddenly shifts unexpected obligations to a governmental or quasi-governmental entity.

In this webinar, a team of seasoned attorneys from Ballard Spahr will combine their knowledge of public finance, bankruptcy, real estate, and litigation to offer advice on how to prepare for the continuing reverberations of the economic downturn and the steps to take to avoid ending up in bankruptcy court.

Topics

  • Concerns for municipalities and special service districts
  • Issues facing trustees and bondholders
  • Coping with a shrinking tax base
  • Bankruptcy options
  • Restructuring special district obligations
  • Separating bondholders from their source of payment

Program

12:00 PM - 1:30 PM ET
10:00 AM - 11:30 AM MT
9:00 AM - 10:30 AM PT

Speakers

Joseph A. Fanone, Partner
Public Finance, Washington, D.C.

Mark R. Gaylord, Partner
Litigation, Salt Lake City

Vincent J. Marriott III, Partner
Bankruptcy, Reorganization and Capital Recovery, Philadelphia

For more information, contact Rachel Lufkin at 801.531.3065 or lufkinr@ballardspahr.com.