Ballard Spahr will be recognized tomorrow evening by Philadelphia VIP, an organization dedicated to promoting equal justice for the poor, for having more attorneys pledged to provide pro bono service than any other firm in the city. In addition, 54 Ballard Spahr attorneys, including firm Chair Mark S. Stewart and partner and former PA Governor Edward G. Rendell, will be placed on the First Judicial District Pro Bono Roll of Honor.

The honors are part of the 2011 Pro Bono Publico Awards Ceremony, held at Philadelphia City Hall and hosted by the First Judicial District judges.

Forty-five attorneys from Ballard Spahr signed Philadelphia VIP’s “30 for 30 Pledge,” a promise to provide at least 30 hours of pro bono work in the next year. The pledge is part of Philadelphia VIP’s 30th anniversary. The Roll of Honor is a way for the judges of the First Judicial District to recognize attorneys who worked on pro bono matters in the Philadelphia courts in the past year.

Mr. Stewart has several cases with the Support Center for Child Advocates and is a member of a team representing a death row client. Gov. Rendell recently represented a parent seeking guardianship over her disabled adult daughter.

“Ballard Spahr’s commitment to pro bono service comes from the top,” said firm Pro Bono Counsel Mary Gay Scanlon. “Many of our attorneys choose Ballard because they care about service to the community. As a firm, we support that dedication in every way we can. We encourage our lawyers to devote meaningful time to pro bono matters, offer billable hour credit for pro bono work, and recognize our lawyers’ pro bono achievements.”

The Ballard Spahr attorneys named to the First Judicial Roll of Honor are:

Sapna K. Anderson
Jessica M. Anthony
Alexandra Bak-Boychuk
Aisha M. Barbour
Barbara R. Beckman
Robert M. Boote
Lorene L. Boudreau
Frederic L. Clark, Jr.
Lucretia C. Clemons
Shannon D. Farmer
David S. Fryman
Farrah I. Gold
Susanna R. Greenberg
John C. Grugan
Adam T. Gusdorff
Jean C. Hemphill
Lindsey E. Hoban
Henry E. Hockeimer, Jr.
William B. Igoe
Cecilia Isaacs-Blundin
Hara K. Jacobs
Daniel V. Johns
Geoffrey A. Kahn
Stephen J. Kastenberg
Rachel M. Keene
Erin Kepplinger
Evan W. Krick
Troy E. Larson
Jason A. Leckerman
Edward I. Leeds
Aldie Jennings Loubier
Daniel J.T. McKenna
Tejal K. Mehta
Jeffrey Meyers
Corinne Militello
Margaret Osborne Padilla
Nicholas H. Pennington
Marcel S. Pratt
Eileen Quigley
Edward G. Rendell
Carl Geoffrey Roberts
Benjamin V. Sanchez
Jonathan S. Satinsky
Mary Gay Scanlon
Gina Maisto Smith
Mark S. Stewart
Meredith C. Swartz
Joel E. Tasca
Alexandre N. Turner
Ronald M. Varnum
Marc J. Weinstein
Matthew A. White
Sandra M. Wintner
Mehreen Zaman

Related Area